I should have done this before now…

I don’t know if you’re like this, but when I’m not looking forward to doing something, I drag my feet and procrastinate something awful. And so I have been doing for a few weeks.

Some time ago I learned that Lady Anne Book 2 – Lady Anne and the Ghost’s Revenge – and Book 3 – Lady Anne and the Gypsy Curse – would not be coming out on schedule in August and November respectively.

The sad fact is, Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark has not sold as well as was expected, and the publisher felt it was in the series best interest to delay publication of Books 2 and 3 to ‘reposition’ the series.

The books are now scheduled to be released in the Fall of 2010, and I have been assured that that is a firm date.

I’m terribly disappointed and have been avoiding the whole subject – though I did send the information out to subscribers to my newsletter – but I’m starting to see reviews of The Ghost’s Revenge online, (good reviews, for the most part) and I got a very nice letter from a reader this morning asking what was going on; she had heard from Amazon that the book was not coming out August 1st, and they didn’t know when it would be.  I knew I had to do something.

So… sigh. At least now you know.

This seems to be happening fairly often recently, and on Dear Author they did a post recently on whether readers are bothered by writers online bashing their publisher. Click here to see the post!

In my case, I’ve been lucky. Sourcebooks Casablanca has been nothing but professional, and I appreciate it.

If you want to be kept up-to-date, then go to my website and sign up for my newsletter!

And in a related note, will someone PLEASE tell Harriet Klausner that my name is not Donna Lea Simmons???

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I should have done this before now…

  1. Barbara Sane

    I am waiting on pins and needles for Book 2 and Book 3 to come out. I loved Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark and have ordered it from Amazon.com but couldn’t find Lady Anne and the Ghost’s Revenge or Lady Anne and the Gypsy Curse. I can’t wait for the books to come out. I have also ordered all the books in your Awaiting series as well and can’t wait to get started on those! Please ask the publishers to hold fast to the Fall 2010 dates and publish the books! You do have avid readers that are waiting anxiously for the next sequence in Lady Anne and Darkefell lives!

    • Hi Barbara,

      How nice to hear from you!

      Unfortunately, Sourcebooks Casablanca declined to publish Books 2 & 3 of my Lady Anne series – sales of Book 1 were not what they had hoped for – and so I am left trying to do something with them myself. It is a daunting process, as I have to create a new cover for each and create the text into the proper format, etc. For someone as technically challenged as I, it is taking a while.

      I feel so bad, because the books really are good and fun, and complete Lady Anne’s journey so nicely! I appreciate readers like yourself encouraging me, though, and I hope to be able to publish them soon!

  2. K

    Oh this is rather disappointing…
    I found the first book of this series on accident and was excited when I saw it continued on; however, to my dismay, it is nowhere to be found. I cannot help but think it is not the fault of the writer but the fault of the publisher and the one promoting the series for the writing itself is entertaining and wonderful.
    I am saddened by the news and yet I am still thankful for finding the book; it allowed me to look into your other works.
    Best wishes and never give up!

  3. Molly

    I just finished reading Lady Anne and the Howl in the Dark and I was hoping for info about the sequels. Have you made any progress? I read Love & Scandal first (and loved it! A lot.) and then wanted to pick up another of your books and I’m so glad I did, Lady Ann was delightful I really enjoyed it. Now I want very much to find out what happens next. Is there any chance of the sequels being offered as ebooks? Hopefully soon?
    I shouldn’t push, but I did want to let you know I’ve really enjoyed your books and I’m looking forward to trying others.

Leave a Reply

