Authors & Blogging

May K at Romancing the Blog has an interesting topic today… Why Authors Shouldn’t Blog.

http://www.romancingtheblog.com/blog/2007/09/03/maybe-authors-shouldnt-blog/

I’ve responded there, because it is a topic I’ve thought a lot about, but I’ll expand here a bit…

First, it is a subject I’ve thought a lot about. Blogging takes a lot of time, time that could probably better be spent writing. But a writer’s life is filled with such trade-offs. An author is not only a writer; an author is also an office clerk, an accountant, a publicist and many other things. Some are even ‘celebrities’.

The truth is, I would rather be writing novels than doing anything else on earth. But there’s this little annoying thing… I’d like them to be published too, and for that I need people to buy them and read them, which means I have to get the word out about the books, which means I need to do everything in my power to promote, and one means of that is… blogging.

But is it worth it? Is anyone reading this? I don’t know. I’m not controversial or shocking enough to garner readers who want to be titillated or shocked. I’m just me.

How important is my day-to-day life to my work as a writer? Is anyone really interested in my thoughts on writing, or how I got published, or what I like to watch on TV? I just don’t know. I don’t think I realized until I started that a blog is a big commitment, and whenever I make a commitment in life I follow through.

So do I think authors should blog? Well, right now I think they have to. It seems to be the best way to have something that is current and user-friendly to update (easier than a webpage) It allows us unparalleled access to the public to announce things like new releases (tomorrow is release day for Awaiting the Fire!!) contests (I’ll be announcing one that I hope will be fun) and give some insight into our writing process for those interested. (I’ll be expanding on my ‘how-to’ entries and how I got published in the next month)

So though my comment on Romancing the Blog is toward why authors shouldn’t blog – some shouldn’t if their personal life is going to be too much ‘out there’ and alienate readers, making their voice so strong that fans can’t forget it when reading their fiction, or identify them too strongly with their characters – I think right now, that most of us feel we need to blog.

But, ’nuff said… right now, I’m off to make peach jam… I’ve never made peach jam before, and I’m a little nervous, but I’ll let you know how it turns out.

If anyone wants to know!! 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging

2 responses to “Authors & Blogging

  1. Thanks for commenting on my RTB post, Donna!

    I did realise that blogging was a big commitment when I started this one, because it’s not my first blog (but it’s the first one that I’ve managed to stick with), and the fact that I’m moving off to university only reinforces that.

    I wrote that post because everybody seems to NEED to blog these days, and I thought maybe we should look at it from the other side too.

    Ooh, jam! I’ve never made jam before, and I guess it’s going to have to wait for next year when I come home.

  2. I haven’t commented yet on RTB, but people shouldn’t blog if they are not going to be committed to doing it regulary. People sign up without really thinking about what it means to have a blog. One thing I’ve realized is that I need more focus on mine, but that’s another post within itself.

Leave a Reply

