What’s Wrong With This Picture?

Okay, so this is Britney last night at the VMA awards in Las Vegas:

Britney-VMA-2007

And here is what Nekesa Mumbi Moody, AP Music Writer had to say about her: “The paunch in place of Spears’ once-taut belly.”

What? Okay, this is getting ridiculous. Criticize her choice of clothes, (Fishnets? Really?) criticize her ridiculous lip synching, (Tho’ why? Hasn’t she always lip synched badly?) but really, ‘paunch‘? Gimme a break. Just because she doesn’t have a ridge of muscles down her belly like Timberlake doesn’t make her paunchy, and what if she was? Is that the crime of the century? She’s a woman and has had two kids!

I’ll admit, I didn’t watch the VMA’s – were they even televised? – but that description caught my attention and I could not let it pass. This is one of the many reasons girls have such a poor body image. If you look at her and hear or read that she’s paunchy, what hope does that leave for the average girl?

It’s time for a little sanity, or truth in reporting, or something. Paunchy. Wow.

4 Comments

Filed under Telly

4 responses to “What’s Wrong With This Picture?

  1. hello donna,

    just dropped by to check out the latest entry in your blog…

    and I have to agree to a certain extent. I watched her performance, it was luke warm at best and ofcourse she isn’t the teenaged hottie everyone thinks she used to be. but the critics should have honed in on the performance, there are a lot worse looking women out there being idolized right now.

    hope all is well with you.

    peace.

  2. Hey Chris,

    As I said, I didn’t watch the show myself, but looking at the picture and hearing her described as having a ‘paunch’… well, that was just too much.

    Kinda the last straw.

    She LOOKS fine… how she sounds or whatever is a whole ‘nother matter, and THAT’S fair game for criticism, as she is a performer.

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. Martha Lawson

    Hi! I didn’t watch either, but I’ve heard the comments. She looksfine to me. In fact, she looks healthy. Seeing women with all the muscles just looks awful to me!

  4. That’s what I thought, Martha; she looks healthy. Out of practice, yes, judging by her dance moves (I’ve seen clips of her appearance now) and the clothes were maybe not flattering, but her body was just fine. How awful must it be to be under such intense scrutiny all the time for every little thing about your physical appearance? I can’t imagine.

Leave a Reply

