Fall is here… almost.

I can’t imagine living anywhere that didn’t have four distinct seasons. Winter is lovely, and a period of rest for nature; I get a LOT of writing done in winter. Spring always adds a zip to my step; gardening is exciting and exhausting, the air is fresh, and I make all kind of plans… some of which never come to fruition. Summer is the season of good times and friends, hanging out, parties and swimming and sunshine.

But I think I love autumn best. The days get shorter, and it’s a great time to plan new books, and write a lot. The change to cooler days is refreshing, you can take a break from the garden and put it to bed, and there are lots of things to look forward to… fall fairs, Thanksgiving, the first snow, Christmas. Yes, definitely my favorite season. Of course, come spring, I’ll probably say the same thing.

On another topic… Reality TV… this week Survivor China started, and every single season I am startled anew by one thing; haven’t these folks ever actually WATCHED Survivor? They complain about the same dang things every time; dirt, bugs, hunger, tiredness and rain. (It kind of reminds me of camping.) Honestly, they always act so surprised, like they thought they were going to a Sandals resort and got hijacked to be in this strenuous competition in grim conditions! So far I haven’t found any real favorites, but we’ll see.

Writing-wise… I’m having great fun working on a new proposal for a set of books. Let’s see… what have I researched this week? As I often do, I’ve set one part in Yorkshire… love the dramatic scenery… and another part is set in Cornwall (like Awaiting the Firelove the gloomy aspect of the moors), and I got off track for a while and started to research a place in the Bahamas called Eleuthera, which apparently means ‘freedom’. Getting off track sometimes yields surprising bonus results and starts a whole new train of thinking.

Some of the most fun I have with writing is the beginning ‘planning’ stage, when there is unlimited potential, when the mansucript is like a Michaelangelo sculpture; a mystery waiting for me to uncover it by chipping away at pieces until the whole is revealed. (I don’t mean a masterpiece… I have yet to actually achieve anything close to a fictional masterpiece.)

Honestly… I have the best job in the world.

Have a great weekend, everyone!!

Leave a comment

Filed under 'Reality' TV, Weekly Wrap-UP, Writing

Leave a Reply

