Thanksgiving and sticky ideas.

What a week!

Monday (October 8th) was Canadian Thanksgiving, and it was the weirdest. Get this: it was the hottest day so far this year (or seemed like it), so in order to bake the turkey (and squash and apple crisp) we had to have the air conditioner on! How strange. It felt like my ‘carbon footprint’ was as big as Sasquatch’s.

Weird. But now the temperature has cooled right down and feels very very ‘fallish’.

The rest of this week has seen me working on proposals.

I get ideas all the time, and probably have a dozen book ideas in various stages of development. When I get an idea for a novel, I start the process by opening a new file and writing whatever I feel like. I usually close it down, then, and see if it’s ‘sticky’.

Sticky?

Well, over the next weeks as I ponder book ideas, I see what occurs to me, where my mind goes, what characters appeal to me. One or two book ideas will have more things that occur to me, more coincidences in things I see or hear, more stuff that ‘sticks’ to the idea. I watch the news, I read books and magazines, and sooner or later I’ll know what ideas are beginning the mysterious process of developing in my mind. It’s a darkroom in there, I’ll tell ya. I don’t consciously decide at that point, I just let my mind range over the possible projects until one keeps recurring. That’s where I am now, with several ideas ripening, ready to fall off the tree and into my lap.

We’ll see what I come up with next!

Oh, and Wayne Newton got kicked off DWTS, so I’m a happy camper! I don’t have to watch him creak around doing the paso doble, my favorite ballrooom dance, next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under 'Reality' TV, Stuff & Nonsense, Weekly Wrap-UP, Writing

Leave a Reply

