Green Bean Casserole anyone?

Okay, I’ll admit it… I am completely baffled as to the seemingly overwhelming popularity of this treat, a Green Bean Casserole, at Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas… but only in the States.

Being Canadian, I’ve never tried it and I really do think it is a distinctly American thing. Apparently, and I’m only guessing here, you combine green beans and mushroom soup, dump it in a casserole and dress it up with canned deep fried onions.

Ummm, weird?

However… I just will have to try it sometime, to see what the fuss is about. In theory, I like all the parts… love green beans, love Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom soup and deep fried onions don’t sound terrible. I always know an American holiday is coming when the US TV stations start with the green bean casserole commercials, making it the star of the dinner table, apparently.

Anyway, here’s a link to the ‘official’ Campbell’s recipe: Campbell’s Green Bean Casserole

And here is a link to the Wikipedia article about the invention of the Green Bean Casserole by Campbell’s.

So, enjoy, and tell me how you like your green bean casserole.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stuff & Nonsense, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

