I’m baa-aack!

This is a sticky post, one talking about my publishing life… so if you are here to learn about what is current, read on!

So, I just can’t keep my mouth shut.  Somewhere deep inside, I knew it was true.  I said I wouldn’t post unless I had something to say, but apparently, I will always have something to say.

Anyway… over at All About Romances, a recent ATBF is about multi-book contracts, and I was asked my feelings.  I babbled, as usual, but just realized some folks may not know that I am, indeed, in a three-book contract; in fact I just turned in my first book, on deadline and in good shape.  My new publisher is Sourcebooks/Casablanca, and I am writing what I will call, for brevity’s sake, the Lady Anne series.

Lady Anne & The Howl in the Dark

The date is April 1786, the setting England; Lady Anne Addison is travelling north to Yorkshire most unexpectedly by that new conveyance, a post carriage.  The Royal Mail was the eighteenth century equivalent of the bullet train, guaranteed to get you somewhere faster than anyone had ever thought possible, but Lady Anne, arriving sick to her stomach at dusk and with no one to greet her at the post house at Staunby is not a fan.  Making her way to Darkefell estate on foot in the dark, she hears a howl, a scream, and stumbles over a dead body.  Within the next hour she will meet the enigmatic and devastatingly attractive Marquess of Darkefell.

What is he hiding?  And what about the rumors that a werewolf stalks Darkefell Estate? (More than rumors, really, since some have seen it, and women have been chased, sheep have been slaughtered by it.)  Is there really a werewolf?  Lady Anne is a skeptic.  More puzzling to her, in a way, is why the marquess keeps kissing her… and why she likes it so much.

It will be out in the spring of 2009.  I have just started writing the second book of the series, as yet untitled.

At the same time I’m writing the fourth book of my Awaiting series, Awaiting the Magic.  I don’t have a publication date yet, but I’ll let you know as soon as I do!

Talk to you soon!!!!!

Update: September 2008

Hey, WordPress now has a ‘sticky’ function that allows a post to be ‘stuck’ to the top of the page. I like it! Especially since this post has the most current publishing news, except… well, ironically, given that I contributed to the ATBF about rushing publication dates (mentioned above and linked), I have agreed (no pressure from my publisher, honest, but it does work out to my advantage) to a considerably tighter writing schedule for books #2 & 3 in my new Lady Anne series. More info on publication dates, as soon as I have it!

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Books, Writing

4 responses to “I’m baa-aack!

  1. Dear Mrs. Simpson,

    I was excited to read that you will be working on the 4th novel of your ‘Awaiting’ series. You can not believe how utterly disappointed I was after I finished reading Awaiting the Fire and you did not have a blurp for your next book in there. I had thought that you would have left it where you ended the 3rd book, I can not express in words how much I LOVE reading your books and I am sure that you get this a lot but you are a pronominal author, and I am absolutely enchanted by your books. I am looking forward to your next book. Do you have any idea when you will be publishing it? No rush take your time, because the longer you take the more anticipated I grow and I will likely show up at my local bookstore at midnight of the release date to guarantee myself a copy of your breathtaking book.
    Thank You for being so good at what you do!
    Your dedicated and loyal fan.
    Jonilynne Walrod

  2. Hi Jonilynne,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. Though I don’t know when the book will be published, I’m so excited about Awaiting the Magic. I’ve been waiting for years to write Christoph’s story, and I want to do right by him. I plan to put Chapter One online soon, just to let readers have an advance peek!

    Please, if you are able, sign up for my online newsletter. Just send a note to me at donnaleasimpson@yahoo.com with the subject line ‘Newsletter’, and I’ll add you to my list. I only ever send out a note when the newsletter is updated online, and that is only a few times a years at most.

    Again, thank you so very much for your kind words about my ‘Awaiting’ series.

    I say this frequently, but I don’t think readers realize how much writers appreciate the notes and letters we get about our books.

    Have a great day, and happy reading!

    Donna Lea Simpson

  3. I’ve been looking for your next “Awaiting” book, too. I like the complex stories with lots going on and I like your descriptive writing. I’m not particularly a werewolf or French Revolution/Georgian fan, but I love those books.

    I’m sorry I discovered the Zebra Regency line just as they ended it. I’ve found a few of your Regencies in the library and I liked them very much. I’ll have to look out for Lady Anne.

  4. Linda,

    I’m still working on Awaiting the Magic. Without the expectations of an editor, I’m finding it an interesting experience. Slow, but interesting. I’m more than halfway done, and poor Christoph is still suffering, but so is Lyulph.

    It’s time to begin winding it up to a satisfying ending! I may post the first chapter or so online soon, for fans of the ‘Awaiting’ books, so they can see how it begins.

    And yes, I really miss writing the Zebra Regencies. They had their own lovely balance, a delightful ‘lightness’ that I found enjoyable to write. I’m trying to incorporate some of that in my Lady Anne books.

Leave a Reply

