Taylor Swift on CMA awards show… Georgian period dress?

Deep in the third draft of my WIP, (Lady Anne and the Ghost’s Revenge) I still took time out to watch the CMA (Country Music Association) Awards Wednesday night. I’m not a huge country fan, but enjoy occasional tunes, particularly because country songs are adept at story-telling. Listen to Brad Paisley’s ‘Waitin’ On A Woman’ or Trace Adkins ‘You’re Gonna Miss This’ for those exquisite slices of life that tell a tale.

But the awards show had an interesting bit in it, Taylor Swift singing ‘Love Story’ (no, not that Love Story). But on stage with her were dancers, dressed in reasonable modernized replicas of late Georgian era clothes, sweeping gowns with cutaway sections to show petticoats of contrasting cloth, and men in breeches, velvet jackets and white silk stockings.

And then I looked up on YouTube further, and found her lovely video. Beautiful (not authentic, completely, but lovely nonetheless) costumes. They won’t allow embedding, but here is the url:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXKAzgBMWxc

How much fun is that? Of course I get the reference, some kind of ‘anytime’ fairytale feel. Lovely, and just thought I’d share!

2 Comments

Filed under Telly, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Taylor Swift on CMA awards show… Georgian period dress?

  1. Oh that was a great video!!! I’m not that much into Country music so I would have missed this.
    And I know it will never happen again – but period costume dress – it is just so gorgeous isn’t it? I thought the guy looked ever so much better dressed in period costume 🙂

  2. Hey, Kristie,

    It was so unusual to see a COUNTRY video with such pretty elements! Nary a truck or bloodhound in sight! LOL.

    Sidenote… apparently the guy in the video and onstage is Miley Cyrus’s much older boyfriend.

    The video caught my attention because the series I’m writing right now is set in 1786, so I’ve been doing a lot of research on Georgian-era gowns, and these were pretty close!

Leave a Reply

