Stuff I’m Into: Vintage Kitchenware

I’m such a vintage nerd! I love not only the stuff itself (pyrex cookware, Melmac, and no, that is not a planet, old kitchen tools) but I love the vintage advertisements!

I haunt junk shops, flea markets, garage sales, antique shops, and love to get a good deal because, as well as being a collector, I’m cheap. Really, really cheap. Thrifty. Frugal. Even the words please me.

So, being all of those things, when I wanted to get a set of Pyrex Primary Colors bowls (they are beautiful and practical, the best combination in the world) I knew I wasn’t going to pay the 80 plus dollars at an antique store. Over about three years I found lonely Pyrex Primary Colors bowls in various junk and antique shops. I paid $10.00 for the first one I bought, the red one, but it wasn’t just for the bowl. I also got some other cool Pyrex dishes and a couple of other items, so really, the bowl was about $4.00. The second was the smallest blue one, and I paid $5.00 for that. The green one was next, and I paid $5.00 for it, and finally, the elusive big yellow one. I found it last summer sitting forlorn and lonely without its mates. I adopted it for just $10.00! So the whole set cost me $24.00!

Aren't they beautiful?

Aren't they beautiful?

Since then I gloat whenever I see them for sale on eBay for exorbitant prices. I’d never buy them by mail because I’m not sure they’d arrive in one piece… or four pieces actually.

I was looking around at stuff about Pyrex on the internet and I actually came across a site called Pyrex Love, and they have a list of all the places they’ve seen Pyrex used on TV and in movies! So I’m not the only weirdo.

Check it out: http://www.pyrexlove.com/pyrex-on-tv-film-commercials/

And it’s true; I see my pieces all the time on TV and in movies and point it out. “There’s my yellow Pyrex bowl!”

My passion for Pyrex is ongoing as is my collection… I’ll show you what else I’ve got next time!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

