Happily Ever After – or – Happy, For Now?

One of my favorite daily reads is Romancing the Blog. I find it an interesting place with a fascinating variety of contributors (including myself on occasion) and a good overview of the romance fiction world from readers, writers and industry insiders (editors and agents). Today’s entry was one of those I found particularly fascinating, as it dealt with that romance novel staple, the HEA, or Happily Ever After ending.

http://www.romancingtheblog.com/blog/2009/07/08/happily-ever-after%E2%80%A6almost/

What I found particularly interesting was that Leslie Parrish echoed my own thoughts, that forcing a one-size-fits-all happy ending on a story is unrealistic and counter-productive. But as her examples were all from contemporary fiction, I wonder how applicable her findings (that readers prefer a ‘happy for now’ ending over an HEA that isn’t realistic) are to historical romance novels?

Personally, I would prefer the realism over a forced HEA, but I wonder, what do devoted historical romance readers feel?

158-The-Conquest-3-q75-500x375

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

