Why I Hate Facebook

I have a hate/hate relationship with Facebook, and it’s getting worse.

First off, I always did despise those jokey poke, superpoke, li’l green sprout, mafia wars thingies. What does it all mean? It feels like a replacement for real human interaction to me, like we are just jostling and nudging each other mindlessly without saying anything.

And ‘friending’? Really? As one writer ‘friend’ said to me online, when did ‘friend’ become a verb?

But at least that felt doable for someone as curmudgeonly as me.

However… now it’s reached the penultimate limit for me. Now I keep getting these requests that I become someone’s fan. Really… their FAN? I will willingly become a fan of James Taylor, Joni Mitchell, Adele, Duffy, Nora Roberts, Jane Austen, but Joe Blow from Idaho?

I don’t think so, and I will hit myself over the head with a sledgehammer – repeatedly – before I plead with anyone else to become MY fan.

Can’t they come up with a better word? Even Twitter’s ominous ‘followers’ doesn’t sound so derned self-centered.

Thoughts, anyone?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why I Hate Facebook

  1. Hi there,

    We are World Have Your Say, a radio programme that broadcasts all over the world from the BBC World Service in London in the UK.

    Our programme today is about the question, ‘Does Facebook improve your life?’

    I’m looking for anti-Facebook voices that would be interested in speaking on our show for a few minutes.

    The show is between 1800GMT and 1900GMT tonight. If you’re interested in contributing at any time during the show, please email your phone number to me and I’ll call to discuss.

    I hope to hear from you soon!

  2. Sorry I didn’t hear about this in time! But really, Christmas Eve?

    I’m still having the hate/hate thing with Facebook, and I’m still determined not to plead with people to become my ‘fans’. Ugh! And I still delete any request to become someone else’s fan when I don’t know them from a hole in the ground.

    And I’m still getting endless requests for pillow fights, mafia wars, or to compost someone’s virtual garden (tempting as that offer is).

    Can’t they come up with some better ideas for authors and readers?

    Oh, right… BookBlogs already has!

    http://bookblogs.ning.com/

Leave a Reply

